Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Buhari removes SGF as boards committee chairman, appoints Osinbajo

0 71


President Muhammadu Buhari has removed the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Babachir David Lawal as chairman of the presidential committee on the reconstitution of federal government boards of parastatals, agencies and commissions.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo has been appointed to chair the presidential committee, while chairman of the National Drugs Law Enforcement Agencies (NDLEA) Muhammad Mustapha Abdallah was appointed head of secretariat.

“The SGF is no longer in charge of that responsibility, for obvious reasons,” a source confided in Daily Trust.

It was gathered that Abdallah-led team now meets frequently at Wuse II, Abuja, and “s working vigorously and will soon conclude its work after which it will submit its report to Mr President.

DAILY POST had reported that President Buhari has begun search for a new SGF following the indictment of Lawal by the Nigerian Senate.

The upper chamber of the National Assembly accused Lawal of corruption in the award of contracts at the Presidential Initiative on North East (PINE).

Buhari, in his New Year message, noted that his “government is aware of some mistakes and wrongdoings in handling the affairs of IDPs. We are taking measures to correct those mistakes and punish the culprits”.

Recall that Buhari in October, 2015 constituted an eight-member committee, headed by Babachir, to compile names of prospective appointees into federal government boards, parastatals and agencies.

Members of the committee included Alhaji Mai Mala Buni (northeast), Alhaji Zakari Ede (northcentral), Alhaji Inuwa Abdulkadir (northwest), Chief Hillard Etagbo Eta (south-south), Chief Pius Akinyelure (southwest), Chief Emmanuel Eneukwe (southeast) and Mr. Gideon Sammani, a senior special assistant to the president as secretary.

The committee, however, had disagreements over certain issues in November.

Buhari, in a response, directed Osinbajo to meet stakeholders including the Senate President Bukola Saraki, House of Representatives Speaker, Yakubu Dogara, Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) Chairman Abdulaziz Yari, APC Governors Forum Chairman Rochas Okorocha and representatives of the governors in each of the six geopolitical zones.

The governors nominated were: Jibrilla Bindow (northeast), Atiku Bagudu (northwest), Simon Lalong (northcentral), Rochas Okorocha (southeast), Adams Oshiomhole (south-south), and Akinwumi Ambode (southwest).

They committee swung into action and reviewed names of the prospective appointees collated by the SGF from the 36 states and FCT which was reportedly done without recourse to governors and other stakeholders of the APC.

The SGF was accused of not treating the issue of board appointments with levity.

He allegedly failed to carry members of the APC Presidential Campaign Council along while refusing to consult governors, a development that set them against Buhari.

President Buhari is expected to make appointments into no fewer than 500 parastatals.

On the lastest development, a government official told Daily Trust that the SGF’s committee on the board appointments had finished its job and has submitted its report.

“I am not denying the protests by some individuals and groups, but the committee of the SGF has completed its assignment and the Vice President’s committee is not a replacement for the SGF’s.

“A committee headed by


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More